George Bellairs

George Bellairs

Author (1902 - 1982)

George Bellairs was the pseudonym of Harold Blundell (1902-1985), a Manchester banker with close connections with the University of Manchester. He was born in Lancashire and married Gwladys Mabel Roberts in 1930. In the late 1950s he moved to the Isle of Man and became a full-time writer. Some of his detective novels are set on the Isle of Man. His series character was featuring Inspector (later Superintendent) Thomas Littlejohn. Many books appear from their titles to have an ecclesiastical theme. He also wrote four books using the pseudonym Hilary Landon.

“One of the subtlest and wittiest practitioners of the simon-pure British detective story,” – New York Times

“Sure-fire, that’s Bellairs.” New York Herald-Tribune


Littlejohn on Leave (1941)
The Four Unfaithful Servants (1942)
Death of a Busybody (1942)
The Dead Shall be Raised (1942) aka Murder Will Speak
Turmoil in Zion (1943) aka Death Stops the Frolic
The Murder of a Quack (1943)
He’d Rather be Dead (1945)
Calamity at Harwood (1945)
Death in the Night Watches (1945)
The Crime at Halfpenny Bridge (1946)
The Case of the Scared Rabbits (1947)
Death on the Last Train (1948)
The Case of the Seven Whistlers (1948)
The Case of the Famished Parson (1949)
Outrage on Gallows Hill (1949)
The Case of the Demented Spiv (1949)
The Case of the Headless Jesuit (1950) aka Death Brings in the New Year
Dead March for Penelope Blow (1951)
Death in Dark Glasses (1952)
Crime in Lepers’ Hollow (1952)
A Knife for Harry Dodd (1953)
Half-Mast for the Deemster (1953)
The Cursing Stones Murder (1954)
Death in Room Five (1955)
Death Treads Softly (1956)
Death Drops the Pilot (1956)
Death in High Provence (1957)
Death Sends for the Doctor (1957)
Corpse at the Carnival (1958)
Murder Makes Mistakes (1958)
Bones in the Wilderness (1959)
Toll the Bell for Murder (1959)
Corpses in Enderby (1960)
Death in the Fearful Night (1960)
Death in Despair (1960)
Death of a Tin God (1961)
The Body in the Dumb River (1961) aka Murder Masqerade
Death Before Breakfast (1962)
The Tormentors (1962)
Death in the Wasteland (1963)
Surfeit of Suspects (1964)
Death of a Shadow (1964)
Death Spins the Wheel (1965)
Intruder in the Dark (1966)
Strangers Among the Dead (1966)
Death in Desolation (1967)
Single Ticket to Death (1967)
Fatal Alibi (1968)
Murder Gone Mad (1968)
Tycoon’s Death-bed (1970)
The Night They Killed Joss Varran (1970)
Pomeroy, Deceased (1971)
Murder Adrift (1972)
Devious Murder (1973)
Fear Round About (1975)
Close All Roads to Sospel (1976)
The Downhill Ride of Leeman Popple (1979)
An Old Man Dies (1980)