C. S. Forester

C. S. Forester

Author (1899 - 1966)

Cecil Scott Forester was the pen name of Cecil Louis Troughton Smith, who rose to fame with tales of adventure and military crusades. His most notable works were The African Queen and the eleven-book Horatio Hornblower series, about naval warfare during the Napoleonic era.

His novels A Ship of the Line and Flying Colours were jointly awarded the 1938 James Tait Black Memorial Prize for fiction.


The Hornblower Series
Mr. Midshipman Hornblower (1950)
Hornblower and the Widow McCool (1967, short story)
Lieutenant Hornblower (1952)
Hornblower and the Hotspur (1962)
Hornblower and the Crisis (1967,
unfinished novel and short stories)
Hornblower and the Atropos (1953)
The Happy Return (1937)
A Ship of the Line (1938)
Flying Colours (1938)
The Commodore (1945)
Lord Hornblower (1946)
Hornblower in the West Indies (1958)
The Last Encounter (1967, short story)
Hornblower, One More Time (1979)

General Fiction
A Pawn Among Kings (1924)
The Paid Piper (1924)
Payment Deferred (1926)
Love Lies Dreaming (1927)
The Wonderful Week (1927)
The Shadow of the Hawk (1928)
Brown on Resolution (1929)
Plain Murder (1930)
Two-and-Twenty (1931)
U97 (1931)
Death to the French (1932)
The Gun (1933)
Nurse Cavell: a play in three acts. By Carl Eric Bechhofer Roberts, Cecil Scott Forester (1933)
The Peacemaker (1934)
The African Queen (1935)
The General (1936)
To the Indies (1940)
The Earthly Paradise (1940)
The Captain from Connecticut (1941)
The Ship (1943)
The Bedchamber Mystery (1944)
The Sky and the Forest (1948)
Randall and the River of Time (1950)
The Good Shepherd (1955)
Sink the Bismarck (1959)
The Nightmare (1954)
The Man in the Yellow Raft (1969)
Gold from Crete (1970)