Miles Tripp

Miles Tripp

Author (1923-2000)

Miles Barton Tripp (1923–2000) was an English writer of thirty-seven works of fiction including crime novels and thrillers, some of which he wrote under the noms de plume Michael Brett and John Michael Brett. 

During World War II, He served in RAF Bomber Command, flying thirty-seven sorties as a bomber-aimer. He recorded his wartime experiences in his one non-fiction work, the memoir The Eighth Passenger. 

After the war, Tripp studied law and worked as a solicitor, and started to write fiction during his spare time. His crime series featuring London-based, pricey private investigator John Samson, who collects antique clocks and eats quiche during stakeouts, counts fourteen titles. 




The Eighth Passenger: The Experiences of a Bomb Aimer in Lancaster Bombers During the 2nd World War (1969)



Faith Is a Windsock (1952)

The Image of Man (1955)

A Glass of Red Wine (1960)

Kilo Forty (1963) (a.k.a. Death Is Catching)

The Skin Dealer (1964)

Diecast (1964) (writing as Michael Brett)

A Quartet of Three (1965)

A Plague of Dragons (1965) (writing as John Michael Brett)

The Chicken (1966)

A Cargo of Spent Evil (1966) (writing as John Michael Brett)

Fifth Point of the Compass (1967)

One Is One (1968)

Malice and the Maternal Instinct (1969)

Man Without Friends (1970)

Five Minutes with a Stranger (1971)

Claws of God (1972)

Obsession (1973) 

Woman at Risk (1974)

Woman in Bed (1976) 

Once a Year Man (1977) 

Wife Smuggler (1978) 

Cruel Victim (1979) 

High Heels (1980) 

Going Solo (1981)

One Lover Too Many (1983) 

A Charmed Death (1984)

Some Predators Are Male (1985) 

Death of Man Tamer (1987) 

The Frightened Wife (1987) 

The Cords of Vanity (1989) 

Video Vengeance (1990) 

The Dimensions of Deceit (1993)

A Woman of Conscience (1994)

Extreme Provocation (1995)

Samson and the Greek Delilah (1995) 

The Suitcase Killings (1997)

Deadly Ordeal (1999)