Frank Tuohy

Frank Tuohy


John Francis “Frank” Tuohy, was an English writer and academic. Born in London, he attended Stowe School and went on to read Moral Sciences and English at King’s College, Cambridge. On completion of his studies, he worked in numerous academic posts under the auspices of the British Council. This included postings in Finland, Brazil and Poland. In the 1950s, in the British Council School of São Paulo, Brazil, he ran a memorable course on The War Poets (WWI), introducing Stephen Spender and his contemporaries. His posting in Poland provided his inspiration for his 1965 novel The Ice Saints. The book received considerable critical acclaim and was awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. Tuohy died in Shepton Mallet, Somerset in 1999 at a time when he was working on the uncompleted manuscript for a new novel following many years of writer’s block.

‘Frank Tuohy is a master of the short story’ – The Financial Times




The Admiral and the Nuns with Other Stories (1963)

The Animal Game (1957)

The Warm Nights of January (1960)

The Ice Saints (1964)

Fingers in the Door (1970)

Live Bait and Other Stories (1979)

The Collected Stories (1984)