Arthur Koestler

Arthur Koestler

Author (1905 - 1983)

Arthur Koestler, CBE (1905-1983) was a prolific writer of essays, novels and autobiographies. He was born into a Hungarian Jewish family in Budapest but was educated in Austria. His early career was in journalism. In 1931 he joined the Communist Party of Germany but, disillusioned, he resigned from it in 1938 and in 1940 published a devastating anti-Communist novel, Darkness at Noon, which propelled him to instant international fame.


The Gladiators (1939)
Darkness at Noon (1940)
Arrival and Departure (1943)
Thieves in the Night (1946)
The Age of Longing (1951)
The Call Girls: A Tragicomedy with a Prologue and Epilogue (1972)

Twilight Bar (1945)

Spanish Testament (1937)
Scum of the Earth (1941)
Dialogue with Death (1942)
Arrow in The Blue: The First Volume of an Autobiography, 1905–31 (1952)
The Invisible Writing: The Second Volume of an Autobiography, 1932–40 (1954)
Stranger on the Square (1984)

Other non-fiction
Scum of the Earth (1941)
The Yogi and the Commissar and other essays (1945)
The Challenge of our Time (1949)
Promise and Fulfilment: Palestine 1917–1949 (1949)
Insight and Outlook (1949)
The Trail of the Dinosaur and other essays (1955)
Reflections on Hanging (1956)
The Sleepwalkers: A History of Man’s Changing Vision of the Universe (1959)
The Watershed: A Biography of Johannes Kepler (1959)
The Lotus and the Robot (1960)
Control of the Mind (1961)
Hanged by the Neck (1961)
Suicide of a Nation (1963)
The Act of Creation (1964)
The Ghost in the Machine (1967)
Drinkers of Infinity: Essays 1955–1967 (1968)
The Age of Longing (1970)
The Case of the Midwife Toad (1971)
The Roots of Coincidence (1973)
The Lion and the Ostrich (1973)
The Heel of Achilles: Essays 1968–1973 (1974)