Roger Scruton

Roger Scruton

Author (1944-2020)

Eminent writer and philosopher, Professor Sir Roger Scruton (1944-2020) taught for over three decades at institutions on both sides of the Atlantic including Birkbeck College, Boston University and  the University of Buckingham. He was the author of over forty books. In his work as a philosopher he had specialised in aesthetics with particular attention to music and architecture. He wrote several works of fiction, as well as memoirs and essays on topics of general interest. He engaged in contemporary political and cultural debates from the standpoint of a conservative thinker and was well known as a powerful polemicist.

He was a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and the British Academy. He was officially honoured by the Czech Republic, by the City of Plzen and by Virginia’s General Assembly. In 2004 he received the Ingersoll Weaver Prize for Scholarly Letters. In 2015 he published 3 books, all of which were chosen among publications as ‘Books of the Year’. In 2016 he was recipient of the Polish Lech Kaczynski Foundation’s Medal for Courage and Integrity, was awarded the Italian Masi Prize for the Culture of Wine in recognition of his book I Drink Therefore I Am (Bevo, dunque sono), and was knighted in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.


Art and Imagination (1974)
The Aesthetics of Architecture (1979)
The Meaning of Conservatism (1980)
The Politics of Culture and Other Essays (1981)
From Descartes to Wittgenstein: A Short History of Modern Philosophy (1981)
A Dictionary of Political Thought (1982)
The Aesthetic Understanding (1983)
Kant (1983)
Untimely Tracts (1985)
Thinkers of the New Left (1985)
Sexual Desire: A Moral Philosophy of the Erotic (1986)
Spinoza (1987)
A Land Held Hostage: Lebanon and the West (1987)
The Philosopher on Dover Beach and Other Essays (1989)
Conservative Texts (1992)
Modern Philosophy (1994)
The Classical Vernacular: Architectural Principles in an Age of Nihilism (1995)
Animal Rights and Wrongs (1996)
An Intelligent Person’s Guide to Philosophy (1996); republished in 2005 as Philosophy: Principles and Problems
The Aesthetics of Music (1997)
An Intelligent Person’s Guide to Modern Culture (1998)
On Hunting (1998)
Spinoza (1998)
England: An Elegy (2001)
The West and the Rest: Globalisation and the Terrorist Threat (2002)
Death-Devoted Heart: Sex and the Sacred in Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde (Oxford University Press, 2004)
News from Somewhere: On Settling (2004)
The Need for Nations (2004)
Gentle Regrets: Thoughts from a Life (Continuum, 2005)
Animal Rights and Wrongs (2006)
A Political Philosophy: Arguments for Conservatism (2006)
Immigration, Multiculturalism and the Need to Defend the Nation State (2006)
Culture Counts: Faith and Feeling in a World Besieged (Encounter Books, 2007)
Dictionary of Political Thought (2007)
Beauty (2009)
I Drink Therefore I Am: A Philosopher’s Guide to Wine (2009)
Understanding Music (2009)
The Uses of Pessimism: And the Danger of False Hope (2010)
Green Philosophy (2011)
The Roger Scruton Reader (2011)
How to Think Seriously About the Planet: The Case for an Environmental Conservatism (2012)
The Face of God: The Gifford Lectures (2012)
Our Church: A Personal History of the Church of England (2012)
The Soul of the World (2014)
How to Be a Conservative (2014)
Fools, Frauds and Firebrands: Thinkers of the New Left (2015)
The Ring of Truth: The Wisdom of Wagner’s Ring of the Nibelung (2016)
Conversations with Roger Scruton (2016)
Confessions of a Heretic: Selected Essays (2016)
On Human Nature (2017)
Conservatism: Ideas in Profile (2017)
The State of Britain Now (2017)
Conservatism: An Invitation to the Great Tradition (2018)
Music as an Art (2018)
Wagner’s Parsifal: The Music of Redemption (2020)

Fortnight’s Anger: a novel (1981)
Francesca: a novel (1991)
A Dove Descending and Other Stories (1991)
Xanthippic Dialogues (1993)
Perictione in Colophon (2000)
Notes from Underground (2014)
The Disappeared (2015)
Souls in the Twilight (2018)

Roger Scruton @Roger_Scruton

News from Scrutopia -

At last my own copy of the great ⁦⁦@HorcherF⁩ ‘s tome on ⁦@Roger_Scruton⁩ has arrived. Can’t wait to digest and enjoy in the coming days!

In loving memory of writer and philosopher Roger Scruton.

Two new books to seek out:𝘛𝘩𝘦 𝘔𝘦𝘢𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘰𝘧 𝘔𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 ed. Mikolaj Slawkowoski-Rode and 𝘙𝘦𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘗𝘰𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘪𝘤𝘴, 𝘊𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘭𝘪𝘻𝘢𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘚𝘰𝘶𝘭 by Daniel J. Mahoney.

Just in time for Christmas...details of our Summer School Programmes can now be found on the website

Today we celebrate Professor @HorcherF and the launch of his latest book, "Art and Politics in @Roger_Scruton's Conservative Philosophy."

News from Scrutopia -

My foreword to the Albanian edition of ⁦@Roger_Scruton⁩ "The Need for Nations". I'd like to thank for having it translated into English.

A new publication from St Augustine's Press: Recovering Politics, Civilization, and the Soul Essays on Pierre Manent and Roger Scruton by Daniel J. Mahoney. Available to buy now.

#Politicians come and go, but the #monarch provides continuity in the life of a nation that looks beyond the moment. #Essay by Mark Dooley
#Patriotism #Home #politics

‘We live in an age marked by infantile ingratitude. And if Scruton is right, that means we live in an age when we do not really know how to live at all. Ingratitude has dehumanized us.’

@Roger_Scruton⁩ ⁦@Scruton_Quotes⁩ ⁦@Scruton_Legacy⁩

Sunak and Meloni bond over their admiration for Sir Roger Scruton

Loved abroad, but Rishi Sunak braces for backlash in Britain over Austerity 2.0. The Sunday Time 13.11.22

The 2022 Roger Scruton Memorial Lectures are now online!

You can watch all the lectures here:

Please join us for the next Scrutopia Book Club! Fri 28th Oct - On Hunting with Dr Sebastian Morello. Register here:

Tonight: Peter Hitchens in conversation with Daniel Hannan and Noel Malcolm

1/ Common Sense Society and @Scruton_Legacy are proud to announce that nominations are now open for the 2023 Sir Roger Scruton Prize!

The Roger Scruton Memorial Lectures: Tonight, Wed 19th Oct
Andrew Roberts on History and Statesmanship, and In Conversation with Robert Tombs. Tickets from:

The Roger Scruton Memorial Lectures return next week. Mon 17 Oct: Katharine Birbalsingh in conversation with Helena Morrissey & Marie Daouda.
Wed 19 Oct: Andrew Roberts in conversation with Robert Tombs. Full details and tickets here:

News from Scrutopia -

The Scrutopia Summer School. We are thrilled to share our latest video with you all. This unique philosophy experience is open to all, register your interest now and join us next summer.

The Roger Scruton Memorial Lecture Series returns on Mon 17 Oct at the Sheldonian Theatre. Katharine Birbalsingh will be in conversation with Helena Morrissey and Marie Daouda. Full details and tickets here: