Mette McLeod

Mette McLeod

Author

Mette McLeod grew up in Norway and went to the Norwegian Defense Intelligence and Security School before being recruited to the Intelligence Service. She went on to become a journalist reporting from all over the world, including two years as a correspondent in Moscow. Her writing is inspired by real events and situations. She lives in Oxford with her husband and two children.

Her debut novel, Red Haven, was shortlisted for the 2017 CWA Debut Dagger.

Mette McLeod @MetteMcLeod

There's still 8 FREE COPIES of #BeforeISayIDo to give away. All you have to do it post a picture of what you're reading now and just tag @BradfordLitFest & #BeforeISayIDo with a chance to win! #FreeBooks #Competition https://twitter.com/BradfordLitFest/status/1263031725560561664

If you read and enjoyed Blood & Sugar, I'd be very grateful if you could spare a few seconds to vote for me here 📕❤️ https://twitter.com/HarrogateFest/status/1260277482621743108

‘Before I Say I Do’, a gritty debut thriller by #police officer @vbradleywriter
@simonschusterUK @simonschusterPR features in @MartinChilton pick of May’s best books
https://www.independent.co.uk/independentpremium/new-books-may-john-grisham-camino-winds-maria-reva-ava-homa-nicholas-royle-a9485681.html

My books have arrived in the post!! It's starting to feel real! #BeforeISayIDo #BestDayEver

HER DREAM WEDDING
IS ABOUT TO BECOME A NIGHTMARE.

#BeforeISayIDo is the must-read dark and twisty psychological debut thriller by @vbradleywriter for fans of Luckiest Girl Alive & Now You See Her

Out May 28th

http://ow.ly/LXku50zpBg2

The great @arkadyostrovsky gives a stonkingly good review for the brilliant #putinspeople by @catherinebelton. you have no excuse for not buying this book. Please do so now. https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/putins-people-how-the-kgb-took-back-russia-and-then-took-on-the-west-by-catherine-belton-review-9zlvkqlsw

Happy UK pub day to @CatherineBelton! Putin’s People: How the KGB Took Back Russia & Then Took On The West is probably the most important book on Russia’s leadership since Fiona Hill and Cliff Gaddy’s Putin biography. A must read https://felicitybryan.com/how-the-kgb-took-back-russia-then-took-on-the-west/

My review of the mustread #putinspeople by the brave and brilliant ⁦@CatherineBelton⁩ — please order a copy now.

Adding my voice to the chorus of delight over @CatherineBelton new book. She was probably the best-sourced journalist in Moscow in recent times. Exciting that this is out after many years of hard work! https://www.theguardian.com/books/2020/apr/12/putins-people-by-catherine-belton-review-relentless-and-convincing?CMP=share_btn_tw

Deservedly stunning review of @CatherineBelton 's "Putin's People", by @edwardlucas: "The most important book on modern Russia". Must-read for anyone interested in Russia, which is everyone https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/putins-people-by-catherine-belton-review-the-most-important-book-on-modern-russia-7rkcpb05f

So excited that #BeforeISayIDo is off into the world! 🤗 https://twitter.com/crmcgeorge/status/1247566718261702661

Thanks @EdwardLucas 'It benefits from a meticulous compilation of open sources, but also from the accounts of disillusioned Kremlin insiders, former business cronies and some remarkably candid people still high up in the system. The result is hairraising.' https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/putins-people-by-catherine-belton-review-the-most-important-book-on-modern-russia-7rkcpb05f

The "Isolation" Facebook group where Russians stuck at home impersonate famous paintings is by far the best thing to come out of the #coronavirus lockdown. I'm going to post my top 3 https://www.facebook.com/groups/izoizolyacia/

Amidst all this, the Sunday Times mag is running a first bite of my book, Putin's People, out later in April with HarperCollins https://www.harpercollins.co.uk/9780007578795/putins-people-how-the-kgb-took-back-russia-and-then-took-on-the-west/ https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/the-inside-story-of-how-putin-and-his-kgb-cronies-took-control-of-russia-prknjjhgh

My #booklover friend sent this to me. Made me laugh @hillcontentbook @Berkelouw @abbeysbookshop @Dymocks_Sydney @dymocksbrisbane @SunBookshop #coronavirus

"I stopped him and said, 'Look, this isn't a movie. You are not Will Smith in I Am Legend. Go home."
This is the updated compilation of Italian Mayors losing it at people violating #Covid19 quarantine. Yes, subtitles are accurate.

Top infections specialist in Russia's Stavropol region didn't self-isolate after visiting Spain, read lectures and had a big meeting. Now she's in intensive care suspected of having COVID-19 and all doctors she contacted are quarantined🤦‍♀️ https://www.kommersant.ru/doc/4298603

This is from a top Cambridge statistician and scientist. He believes we are about 14 days behind Italy. https://twitter.com/imartincorena/status/1240634861800611840