Dennis Wheatley

Dennis Wheatley

Author (1897 - 1977)

Dennis Yates Wheatley (8 January 1897 – 10 November 1977) was an English author. His prolific output of stylish thrillers and occult novels made him one of the world’s best-selling authors from the 1930s through the 1960s. Wheatley mainly wrote adventure stories, with many books in a series of linked works. Background themes included the French Revolution (the Roger Brook series), Satanism (the Duke de Richleau series), World War II (the Gregory Sallust series) and espionage (the Julian Day series).


The Forbidden Territory (1933)
The Devil Rides Out (1934)
The Golden Spaniard (1938)
Three Inquisitive People (1940)
Strange Conflict (1941)
Codeword – Golden Fleece (1946)
The Second Seal (1950)
The Prisoner in the Mask (1957)
Vendetta in Spain (1961)
Dangerous Inheritance (1965)
Gateway to Hell (1970)
Black August (1934)
Contraband (1936)
The Scarlet Impostor (1940)
Faked Passports (1940)
The Black Baroness (1940)
V for Vengeance (1942)
Come into My Parlour (1946)
The Island Where Time Stands Still (1954)
Traitors’ Gate (1958)
They Used Dark Forces (1964)
The White Witch of the South Seas (1968)
The Quest of Julian Day (1939)
The Sword of Fate (1941)
Bill for the Use of a Body (1964)
The Launching of Roger Brook (1947)
The Shadow of Tyburn Tree (1948)
The Rising Storm (1949)
The Man Who Killed the King (1951)
The Dark Secret of Josephine (1955)
The Rape of Venice (1959)
The Sultan’s Daughter (1963)
The Wanton Princess (1966)
Evil in a Mask (1969)
The Ravishing of Lady Mary Ware (1971)
The Irish Witch (1973)
Desperate Measures (1974)
To the Devil – a Daughter (1953)
The Satanist (1960)
The Haunting of Toby Jugg (1948)
The Ka of Gifford Hillary (1956)
Unholy Crusade (1967)
Sixty Days to Live (1939)
Star of Ill-Omen (1952)
They Found Atlantis (1936)
Uncharted Seas (1938)
The Man Who Missed the War (1945)
Such Power is Dangerous (1933)
The Fabulous Valley (1934)
The Eunuch of Stamboul (1935)
The Secret War (1937)
Curtain of Fear (1953)
Mayhem in Greece (1962)
The Strange Story of Linda Lee (1972)
Short story collections
Mediterranean Nights (1943)
Gunmen, Gallants and Ghosts (1943)

Historical non-fiction
Old Rowley: A Private Life of Charles II (1933)
Red Eagle: The Story of the Russian Revolution and of Klementy Efremovitch Voroshilov, Marshal and Commissar for Defence of the Union of Socialist Soviet Republics (1937)
The Devil and all his Works (1971)

War papers and autobiography
Total War (1941)
Stranger than Fiction (1959)
Saturdays with Bricks: And Other Days Under Shell-Fire (1961)
The Time Has Come: The Memoirs of Dennis Wheatley: The Young Man Said 1897–1914 (1977)
The Time Has Come: The Memoirs of Dennis Wheatley: Officer and Temporary Gentleman1914–1919 (1978)
The Time Has Come: The Memoirs of Dennis Wheatley: Drink and Ink 1919–1977 (1979)
The Deception Planners: My Secret War (1980)

Private printings
The Seven Ages of Justerini’s (1749–1949) (1949)
Of Vice and Virtue (1950)
The Eight Ages of Justerini’s (1749–1965) (1965)
The Nine Ages of Justerini’s: A Celebration of 250 Years (1998)

Crime dossiers (with J. G. Links)
Murder off Miami (1936)
Who Killed Robert Prentice? (1937)
The Malinsay Massacre (1938)
Herewith the Clues! (1939)

As editor
A Century of Horror Stories (1935)
A Century of Spy Stories (1938)