Anthony Masters (Richard Tate)

Anthony Masters (Richard Tate)

Author (1940 - 2003)

Anthony Masters was renowned as an adult novelist, short story writer and biographer, but was best known for his fiction for young people.

Many of his novels carry deep insights into social problems, which he experienced over four decades by helping the socially excluded. He ran soup kitchens for drug addicts and campaigned for the civic rights of Romani and other ethnic minorities. Masters is also known for his eclectic range of non-fiction titles, ranging from the biographies of such diverse personalities as the British secret service chief immortalized by Ian Fleming in his James Bond books (The Man Who Was M: the Life of Maxwell Knight).

His children’s fiction included teenage novels and the ground breaking Weird World series of young adult horror, published by Bloomsbury. He also worked with children both in schools and at art festivals. Anthony Masters died in 2003.


A Pocketful of Rye (1964)

The Seahorse (1966)

The Natural History of the Vampire (1972)

Summer That Bled (1974)

Devil’s Dominion (1978)

Rosa Lewis: An Exceptional Edwardian (1978)

The Man Who Was M: The Life of Maxwell Knight (1984)

Confessional (1993)

The Day of the Dead (1998)

Roman Myths (2000)

Heroic Stories (2004)

Doughnut Danger (2004)

Biker City (2006)

Ricky’s Rat Gang (2007)

Horror of the Heights (2008)

The Haunted Surfboard (2008)

Scary Tales to Tell in the Dark (2012)