Marilia Savvides Taking Submissions

Marilia Savvides

Literary Agent

Marilia Savvides is an Agent in the Books Division. She joined Peters, Fraser + Dunlop in 2012 and is a graduate of UCL and the Columbia Publishing Course in New York. She spent several years working in the PFD Foreign Rights department, selling books in translation to publishers around the world.

Marilia is also a returning member of the faculty at the Columbia Publishing Course at Oxford University, Exeter College and is a judge on the PFD sponsored ‘Creative Writing Prize for Fiction’ in association with the University of Manchester. She was a Bookseller Rising Star in 2018.

 

What i'm looking for...

I am most drawn to dark tales that weave together excellent characters and an impossible-to-put-down story.

I am very hands-on editorially, and love working with my authors to shape their manuscripts. I love discovering debut authors and helping them find a home for their books.

I’m on the hunt for high-concept thrillers, crime, psychological suspense, horror and speculative, genre-bending fiction. No Fantasy please!
I’m also on the lookout for reading group fiction in the vein of Jodi Picoult or Liane Moriarty.

On my wish list, at the moment, is finding a great legal / courtroom thriller and a grounded horror novel in the vein of Hex or Sarah Lotz.

On the non-fiction side I am especially interested in pop science / psychology, narrative history, true crime and investigative journalism. I am also on the lookout for more stories by women, especially in memoir form.

 

Marilia Savvides @MariliaSavvides

8yo student wrote a perfect romance story today and right when the boy and girl were going to get together, she wrote, “but then the girl changed her mind and became a vampire who lived alone with fourteen dogs.”

Fondly remembering my first ever one-star review...

Happy publication day to @byTashB – #HisPerfectWife hits shelves today! Read more about this dark missing-persons thriller: https://t.co/dclIqA6nLE

Homophobic parents are right to be worried about their children turning gay after lessons about LGBT awareness. I lived as a Tudor wench for 2 years following a history class.

Happy paperback publication day to the incredible @byTashB
#HisPerfectWife is out today. Go read it. It will blow your mind

Excited doesn’t even begin to cover it! I can’t wait to read this! Huge thanks @simonschusterUK @annecater for 55 by James Delargy! Look out for the #RandomThingsTours coming soon!

Book People! Our moment has finally come! We are finally ON TREND. It's only taken me 35 years but I'll take it. https://t.co/ww8RRhNyVd

Eeeek! Still the best post! #HisPerfectWife is out tomorrow 📚🤩

*everybody laughs at Devin Nunes*

Nunes: ”We’ll see who’s laughing after I sue this fake internet cow!”

*everybody laughs harder*

I just want @jvn to do my hair

We’re so excited for this event! Our very own @Hanna_Jameson talking to the awe-inspiring @helloiammariam and @TheHelpMeBlog about getting through dark times. Can’t wait! https://t.co/JehcDmP8lz

#TheLast is Book of the Week in @WomansWeeklyMag! 'An unsettling read that is as thought provoking as it is gripping' https://t.co/gkFfgMaD5t

Good god people, if you haven’t already do yourselves a favour and watch @thegoodfight
It is just one of the best things on television. It’s superb.