Marilia Savvides Taking Submissions

Marilia Savvides

Literary Agent

Marilia Savvides is an Agent in the Books Division. She joined Peters, Fraser + Dunlop in 2012 and is a graduate of UCL and the Columbia Publishing Course in New York. She spent several years working in the PFD Foreign Rights department, selling books in translation to publishers around the world.

Marilia is also a returning member of the faculty at the Columbia Publishing Course at Oxford University, Exeter College and is a judge on the PFD sponsored ‘Creative Writing Prize for Fiction’ in association with the University of Manchester. She was a Bookseller Rising Star in 2018.

 

What I'm looking for...

I am most drawn to dark tales that weave together excellent characters and an impossible-to-put-down story.

I am very hands-on editorially, and love working with my authors to shape their manuscripts. I love discovering debut authors and helping them find a home for their books.

I’m on the hunt for high-concept thrillers, crime, psychological suspense, horror and speculative, genre-bending fiction. No Fantasy please!
I’m also on the lookout for reading group fiction in the vein of Jodi Picoult or Liane Moriarty.

On my wish list, at the moment, is finding a great legal / courtroom thriller and a grounded horror novel in the vein of Hex or Sarah Lotz.

On the non-fiction side I am especially interested in pop science / psychology, narrative history, true crime and investigative journalism. I am also on the lookout for more stories by women, especially in memoir form.

 

Marilia Savvides @MariliaSavvides

it was 1997 i was outside McDonald's on Queen St age 15, an old lady barked "speak English" at a pair of young Korean men and without missing a beat one of them goes "OOooo i want a nice cup of TEA look at ME I'm ENGLISH i want to eat PLAIN TOAST" i miss him every single day

Literally every scene in “Big Little Lies” that has Adam Scott and that other handsome husband guy (the one married to Zoë Kravitz, you know who I mean):

AWESOME ALERT: the incredible early proofs of KEEPER by @jessicammoor are in! This is an utterly addictive and terrifying crime that could happen to anyone...
Intrigued? We're giving away 2 of these special proofs each week so keep your peepers peeled on @VikingBooksUK 👀

HOT NEW BOOK ALERT!
Proofs for KEEPER by @jessicammoor are here. This debut novel made me turn the pages like mad and then want to shout off the rooftops about it! Jessica Moor is a writer to watch.
#Keeper

I think a lot of us today need to see Loretta Does Fosse again.

Celeste and Mary Louise leaving the courthouse after every custody hearing #BigLittleLies

Celeste really gonna have that lame ass attorney representing her when the greatest lawyer of our generation is sitting in the front row of the courtroom? #BigLittleLies

Catch @Hanna_Jameson at @HastingsLitFest talking nuclear apocalypse and dystopian fiction on 30 Aug https://t.co/zgcv5FJArn

The cruelty is the point.

sometimes female friendship is just repeating "does that make sense?" back and forth to each other until you finally acknowledge that you've both been making perfect sense this entire time and you've just been socialized to shrink yourself and second guess everything you say

The weird feud between Ed and Nathan on #BigLittleLies is giving me so much joy

Every Sunday when that theme song comes on #BigLittleLies

Love like you’ve never been hurt

Eat like your mother’s watching

Did I do this right?

"Until I see some of my notes applied, it doesn’t make sense for me to make more." - Beyoncé Giselle Knowles-Carter https://t.co/68VXXgqEWu