Marilia Savvides Taking Submissions

Marilia Savvides

Literary Agent

Marilia Savvides is an Agent in the Books Division. She joined Peters, Fraser + Dunlop in 2012 and is a graduate of UCL and the Columbia Publishing Course in New York. She spent several years working in the PFD Foreign Rights department, selling books in translation to publishers around the world.

Marilia is also a returning member of the faculty at the Columbia Publishing Course at Oxford University, Exeter College and is a judge on the PFD sponsored ‘Creative Writing Prize for Fiction’ in association with the University of Manchester. She was a Bookseller Rising Star in 2018.

 

What I'm looking for...

I am most drawn to dark tales that weave together excellent characters and an impossible-to-put-down story.

I am very hands-on editorially, and love working with my authors to shape their manuscripts. I love discovering debut authors and helping them find a home for their books.

I’m on the hunt for high-concept thrillers, crime, psychological suspense, horror and speculative, genre-bending fiction. No Fantasy please!
I’m also on the lookout for reading group fiction in the vein of Jodi Picoult or Liane Moriarty.

On my wish list, at the moment, is finding a great legal / courtroom thriller and a grounded horror novel in the vein of Hex or Sarah Lotz.

On the non-fiction side I am especially interested in pop science / psychology, narrative history, true crime and investigative journalism. I am also on the lookout for more stories by women, especially in memoir form.

 

Marilia Savvides @MariliaSavvides

Woo! #HisPerfectWife is number 41 in the #kindle chart & still only 99p. https://t.co/12qUFbiU0i

Oh hey there @byTashB
I see you #HisPerfectWife hanging out in the top 50 ❤️

It’s hen do day! I’m ready @laurabirdland

On a group text I'm on someone announced she "just learned that Mark Wahlberg was previously a rapper named Marky Mark" which is how *I* learned the difference between 26 and 32 years old is irreparably vast

Me in AirBNB, 7:55 AM: Where are my jeans? I don’t understand where they could be

Me driving to breakfast, 8:02 AM: Ha ha are those jeans in the middle of the road

Me 8:05 AM after epiphany:

So I guess it isn't about fertilized eggs after all, just us? https://t.co/VwsVkb9mPK

Wholeheartedly agree. I NEVER want anything sweet at breakfast. Why can’t I have pasta, huh? #pastaforbreakfast

highly recommend Dead To Me on Netflix to anyone who also enjoys my favorite genre of television show, Rich White People Ruining Each Other’s Lives (Near A Beach)

I can only assume that our upstairs neighbours wake up on Saturday, have some coffee and proceed to throw heavy furniture across the room for hours and hours. Or maybe they’re just jumping up and down in steel boots? What is this custom?

Thank you @maru_darbu for reminding me of this excellent soundtrack (and show) ❤️ on repeat today

Grateful thanks to the Houghton Reading Club who are about to read and assess my book A DEATH IN CHELSEA. Thank you, guys! Hope you enjoy it! #ADeathInChelsea

No one has had a bigger glow up in the last 10 years than cauliflower. It went from being ashy broccoli to being the Mystique of vegetables, always coming at you with a new shape. You want rice? Mashed potatoes? Pasta? Cheese? A man? Low cost housing? Make it from cauliflower.

Maybe you're having a rough day, too, and maybe these pictures of moviestars who match their dogs will help you, too:

IF YOU MISCARRY YOU CAN BE LIABLE FOR SECOND DEGREE MURDER.

DO YOU FUCKING HEAR THAT? DO YOU? https://t.co/E4IvULB3AE

This guy sent me hate on Facebook so I told his mom on him. She was really nice about it.

❗OUT NOW❗ 55 by @JDelargyAuthor is one of the most exciting debuts of 2019. A thriller with a killer hook and an ending that will make you gasp, you'll want to get your hands on this bookish treat ASAP. 📚 https://t.co/GO8Cs1wBhe

i think what gets lost a lot is the understanding that “nice” and “kind” aren’t synonyms: to be nice is to perform civility. to be kind is to act empathetically. sometimes being kind requires disregarding niceness.

Marlowe just sauntered into my office, looked at me straight in the eye and then vomited on the carpet. He then trotted off. #HappyFriday
P.S. He is completely fine
P.P.S. Marlowe is our office dog, not a human person.