Marilia Savvides Taking Submissions

Marilia Savvides

Literary Agent

Marilia Savvides is an Agent in the Books Division. She joined Peters, Fraser + Dunlop in 2012 and is a graduate of UCL and the Columbia Publishing Course in New York. She spent several years working in the PFD Foreign Rights department, selling books in translation to publishers around the world.

Marilia is also a returning member of the faculty at the Columbia Publishing Course at Oxford University, Exeter College and is a judge on the PFD sponsored ‘Creative Writing Prize for Fiction’ in association with the University of Manchester. She was a Bookseller Rising Star in 2018.

 

What I'm looking for...

I am most drawn to dark tales that weave together excellent characters and an impossible-to-put-down story.

I am very hands-on editorially, and love working with my authors to shape their manuscripts. I love discovering debut authors and helping them find a home for their books.

I’m on the hunt for high-concept thrillers, crime, psychological suspense, horror and speculative, genre-bending fiction. No Fantasy please!
I’m also on the lookout for reading group fiction in the vein of Jodi Picoult or Liane Moriarty.

On my wish list, at the moment, is finding a great legal / courtroom thriller and a grounded horror novel in the vein of Hex or Sarah Lotz.

On the non-fiction side I am especially interested in pop science / psychology, narrative history, true crime and investigative journalism. I am also on the lookout for more stories by women, especially in memoir form.

 

Marilia Savvides @MariliaSavvides

(log on)
The term Cancel Culture is a bad faith fallacy. There's only Consequence Culture, it's long overdue and most of the exposed predators have yet to face meaningful consequences.
(log off)

when i worked at anthropologie in college, my manager told us when we’d get flustered “it’s just panties and candles” and i try to remind myself of that all the damn time

it’s just panties and candles

I have no words for the fascism we’re seeing all over the world. It’s too grotesque

BBC News - Italy Holocaust survivor Liliana Segre under guard amid death threats https://t.co/9iZaEcb6d8

spotted a woman reading my book. Rushed up to her, all excited 'You're reading my book!!!' Woman, beating hasty retreat from me, 'No.I bought it.'

So sad. So pain. Much hurt.

If you’re having a bad day here’s a rare video of a corgi with a long tail to make it better🐶

Somebody help. Is Lindy West’s “The Witches Are Coming” just not available in the UK? I can’t find it and I am upset.

"I bought another book"
- transactional
- people will ask if you REALLY need more books
- reminds you of your bank balance

"I paid a terrible price for this knowledge"
- classy Faustian vibes
- intimidating
- implies all books are priceless treasures. which they are.

Four students.
Four secrets.
One devastating lie...

#TheRoommates by @RachelSargeant3 is out now in ebook! https://t.co/Od2Tz1gMzq

ALL CAPS IS A REBRAND?

Reviewed: Keeper
(Ones to Watch in 2020)

A melancholy, authentic literary thriller.

https://t.co/3rFnPa2ebY

@jessicammoor
@VikingBooksUK
#Keeper

Richard Spencer: good sirs, I am a racist

media: he said he’s dapper 😍

Spencer: racism is indubitably my thing

media: dapper white nationalist 😍

Spencer: *slur-filled rant*

media: turns out he was racist 😲

Lovely 5* review of The Roommates from an Amazon reader: "The university setting and the social dynamics are wonderfully convincing and I loved the way the relationships change and mature." Thank you, Ces #studentlife #crimefiction #thriller

hello darkness my old friend
why are you here its 4pm

after being at the gym for 5 minutes

You think you know but until you look at the photos, you really don’t.