Marilia Savvides Taking Submissions

Marilia Savvides

Literary Agent

Marilia Savvides is an Agent in the Books Division. She joined Peters, Fraser + Dunlop in 2012 and is a graduate of UCL and the Columbia Publishing Course in New York. She spent several years working in the PFD Foreign Rights department, selling books in translation to publishers around the world.

Marilia is also a returning member of the faculty at the Columbia Publishing Course at Oxford University, Exeter College and is a judge on the PFD sponsored ‘Creative Writing Prize for Fiction’ in association with the University of Manchester. She was a Bookseller Rising Star in 2018.

 

What I'm looking for...

I am most drawn to dark tales that weave together excellent characters and an impossible-to-put-down story.

I am very hands-on editorially, and love working with my authors to shape their manuscripts. I love discovering debut authors and helping them find a home for their books.

I’m on the hunt for high-concept thrillers, crime, psychological suspense, horror and speculative, genre-bending fiction. No Fantasy please!
I’m also on the lookout for reading group fiction in the vein of Jodi Picoult or Liane Moriarty.

On my wish list, at the moment, is finding a great legal / courtroom thriller and a grounded horror novel in the vein of Hex or Sarah Lotz.

On the non-fiction side I am especially interested in pop science / psychology, narrative history, true crime and investigative journalism. I am also on the lookout for more stories by women, especially in memoir form.

 

Marilia Savvides @MariliaSavvides

Woke up this morning but thought I was still dreaming. The Perfect Neighbours is back with a bestseller flag. Thank you to everyone who's bought, read, reviewed or retweeted. #thriller #crimefiction @0neMoreChapter_ @KillerReads

Omg the #ClimateStrike sign saying “Leonardo DiCaprio’s girlfriends deserve a future” has ended me https://t.co/EfWuAlaAUl

sephora workers to me the moment i enter the store

‘From the very first page, the intrigue of this page-turning mystery builds until the gripping climax’ Bestselling author Caroline England says this about The Roommates, my new #thriller set in #FreshersWeek. Thank you so much @CazEngland @Harper360 #unilife #freshers

No one:
Nothing at all:
No threatening input whatsoever:

My brain:

Ok. Who told Jacob about our secret feminist agenda against the Locking Briefcase?!

tiktok comedians: *teenagers making hysterical creative cry-laughing 15 second videos with no budget*

professional comedians: how do you expect me to be funny without using slurs?

Two suspects. Two identical stories. Which one is the truth? #55 is our new autumn thriller with a killer ending - and it's out today! Happiest of publication days to @JDelargyAuthor

I'm adding to an already bumper crop of books released today but had to capture the lovely flowers sent by the wonderful team @simonschusterUK. Thanks to all of you fantastic people!

Oh and '55' is out to buy on paperback today. #whois55

Probably should have put that first...

the only way I can imagine not seeing this movie in theaters is if the director commits a ritual human sacrifice on his lawn https://t.co/MGET4MQN9P

*clears throat*
🗣 byyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeee

To whomever did this fine video edit of Samuel L. Jackson absolutely destroying Brett Kavanaugh, thank you.

“Indelebile in the hippocampus is the laughter”

why aren’t you laughing https://t.co/UeIET4LOn3

I don’t know, I’m tired of saying it, but it wasn’t foresight that led to the writing of The Handmaid’s Tale. It was hindsight. Atwood herself said it was inspired by things that had already happened. Just because something hasn’t happened to you doesn’t mean it hasn’t happened.

This little girl’s dad was trying to get answers from her after she put lipstick on all by herself.

I’ve never seen a puppy pull a prank before and this was too cute not to share🐶

Due to sustained high blood pressure levels, “a chess player can burn up to 6,000 calories a day while playing in a tournament, three times what an average person consumes in a day.”

I am shook. https://t.co/DqM0YvPEBP

The worst kind of betrayal. Imagine caring more about the man who assaulted your child because he’s a man and she’s a woman.